Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Grand Rounds
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (35) posts »

AMEC 2016 Survey & Reflections from SNMA's Immediate Past President

Posted By Cynthia Bell, Thursday, May 12, 2016
 Phew…we made it through another AMEC! After days of #teamnosleep and taking advantage of all the benefits of AMEC, I hope you have had the chance to recuperate and now feel rejuvenated to further advance the SNMA mission. With over 1,300 attendees at this year’s conference, I want to thank each of you for a successful event. Through fellowship, education, advocacy, and service, we certainly made an impact on Austin, TX! We were also able to launch the Membership Survey at AMEC.

Please take the next 15 minutes to provide your input here to help us better serve you as members in providing opportunities and membership benefits. If you are still pumped up from AMEC and interested in getting involved, check out the May President’s Newsletter from our National President Christen Johnson, as she provides advice on your next steps of becoming a SNMA leader.

In addition, AMEC is a time of celebration and reflection. We recognize several members and chapters who have worked tirelessly through the year to uphold our mission and those who have participated in our various programmatic initiatives, which currently target leadership development, research and community service. Below is a list of these deserving members and chapters who were recognized at AMEC.

SNMA Member Scholarships

Pre-Medical Member – Olugabukola (Bukky) Ajaghe

Basic Medical Sciences – Kindred Harris

Clinical Sciences – Milele Bynum

Pre-Medical Member of the Year – Omonivie Hope Agboghidi

SNMA Member of the Year – Amy Feng

MAPS Chapter of the Year – Temple University

SNMA Chapter of the Year – McGovern Medical School at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

National Committee(s) of the Year – Osteopathic Committee and Publications Committee

Board of Directors Officer of the Year – Cortlyn Brown

Future Leadership Project Fellows – Gabriel Felix, Fernado Ferrara, Simisola Kuye, Shannon Pringle, Jessica Thomas, Jasmine Bryant, Janaya Shelly, Erica Odukoya, Danyelle Thomas, Colleen Laurent, Charles Grant, Brandon Durant, Ashley Snelling, Amiah McCray, Salma Mumuni, Ruth St. Fort, Oluwabukola Ajagbe, Kindred Harris, Ashley Sylvera

Lastly, as I reflect on the year, I am grateful for all of your support and hard work in executing my vision for the organization. By supporting my Executive Agenda, we have made an impact on addressing the mental health issues that continue to afflict ourselves, as well as the communities we serve. In a time where social justice is still needed, we as future physicians can still contribute to the conversation to make a difference. As current medical students, we have the power of declaring our support for addressing these issues within the medical field. Continue to use that power and be the advocate for your patients by serving as their voice during these important conversations.

SNMA as an organization continues to make strides in this area as we have recently signed a petition urging the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to raise their ban on gun violence research. Join me in supporting SNMA 2016-2017 National President Christen Johnson on her endeavor in "lighting the way with SNMA” as she works to tackle several health disparities through education, advocacy, and service.

Again, thank you for your support and it was an honor to serve as your 2015-2016 National President!

Yours in SNMA,

Anthony Kulukulualani

MD Candidate 2017

Tags:  amec 2016 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
Online Surveys
40033278 - Marian University Campaign